According to Jon Rothstein Liberty will open the 2021 Diamond Head Classic against Northern Iowa. The Flames will compete in the event held in Hawaii from December 22-25, 2021. Other first round matchups include Stanford-Wyoming, BYU-South Florida, and Vanderbilt-Hawaii.

Liberty and UNI will play on Dec. 22 and will then matchup against either Stanford or Wyoming with BYU, South Florida, Vanderbilt, and Hawaii all competing on the other side of the bracket.

Northern Iowa finished last season with a 10-15 overall mark and 7-11 in Missouri Valley Conference play. They are led by head coach Ben Jacobson who has been at the helm since 2006-07 and guided the Panthers to four NCAA Tournament appearances, including a trip to the Sweet Sixteen in 2009.

The field for the 2021 Diamond Head Classic has officially been announced, as reported earlier this month. Liberty will take part in the event held in Hawaii from December 22-25, 2021. Liberty will be joined in the event by BYU, Hawaii, Northern Iowa, South Florida, Stanford, Vanderbilt, and Wyoming.

Liberty will spend Christmas in Hawaii Hawaii this coming season as part of the Diamond Head Classic, according to Happening Hoops. The Flames will take part in this eight team tournament, according to the report, and will be joined by Stanford, South Florida, Wyoming, BYU, New Mexico State, Liberty, the host Hawaii, and one team to be determined. Each team will play three games over the course of three days. Jon Rothstein reports that the team to be determined is Northern Iowa.

The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic is currently scheduled for December 22-25, 2021 at the Stan Sheriff Center in Honolulu, Hawaii. It is an ESPN Event tournament which has been televised on ESPN2 and ESPNU in past years. The tournament was last played in December 2019 when Houston defeated Washington in the championship game.

The 2020 tournament was planned to move to Orlando but was eventually canceled prior to the season starting amid the COVID pandemic. Teams scheduled for last year’s event included Arizona State, Hawaii, Oklahoma, St. Mary’s, San Diego State, Seattle, Temple, and Western Michigan.

This tournament adds to a growing list of games announced for Liberty in the 2021-22 season. The Flames are also scheduled to play at LSU on November 15 and play host to Missouri on December 2.