Big South basketball media day was today, and the Flames were picked to finish 2nd in Coach Ritchie McKay’s 2nd year. Here’s the complete ballot:

  1. Winthrop (30) 300
  2. Liberty 236
  3. UNC Asheville 227
  4. Gardner-Webb 218
  5. High Point 182
  6. Radford 128
  7. Charleston Southern 121
  8. Campbell 101
  9. Longwood 82
  10. Presbyterian 55

John Dawson was selected to the All-Big South first team while Winthrop’s Keon Johnson was voted the Preseason Big South Player of the Year.

All- Big South First Team
Keon Johnson, Winthrop
Tyrell Nelson, Gardner-Webb
Xavier Cooks, Winthrop
Chris Clemons, Campbell
John Dawson, Liberty

All-Big South Second Team
Ahmad Thomas, UNC-Asheville
Armel Potter, Charleston Southern
Kevin Vannatta, UNC-Asheville
Miles Bowman Jr., High Point
Ed Polite Jr., Radford